Glaubensgrundlagen

In Übereinstimmung und Erweiterung des Apostolischen Glaubensbekenntnisses glauben wir:

 

1.      Die Heilige Schrift

Wir bekennen, dass die ganze Heilige Schrift (ohne Apokryphen) das in den Originaltexten - unter Beibehaltung der menschlichen Eigenheiten des Autors - von Gott inspirierte und daher irrtumslose Wort Gottes ist, das uns Gott als oberste Autorität in allen Fragen des Glaubens, Denkens und Handelns zuverlässig überliefert hat. (2 Tim. 3:16; 2 Pet. 1:21; Heb. 4:12)

2.      Gott

Wir bekennen uns zu dem einen, einzigen und persönlichen Gott, der sich zugleich als Vater, Sohn und Heiliger Geist offenbart. Gott ist Geist, aber Person; ewig, allgegenwärtig, allmächtig und allwissend; er ist vollkommen heilig, gut und gerecht, ein Gott des Gerichtes, sowie der Liebe, Barmherzigkeit und Gnade. (Gen. 1:1; Deut. 6:4; John 10:30; John 4:24; Matt. 28:19; 2 Cor. 13:14; Heb. 4:14; Psalm 139:1-10; Jer. 23:23-24; Psalm 99:9; Psalm 106:1; Deut. 32:4; 1 John 4:8; Exodus 34:6)

Wir glauben an Gott den Vater, den Planer, Urheber und Erhalter aller Dinge, von dem der Heilsplan Gottes für uns Menschen ausgeht. (Gen. 1:1; Rom. 8:28; 1 Cor. 8:6; John 3:16; Psalm 54:4; Psalm 55:22)

Wir glauben an Gott, den Sohn, durch den die Welt geschaffen wurde und der durch Zeugung des Heiligen Geistes ganz Mensch wurde und dabei doch ganz Gott blieb, um stellvertretend für die Schuld des Menschen am Kreuz zu sterben und ihn so von Sünde und immerwährender Gottesfeme zu erlösen. Er ist leiblich von den Toten auferstanden und in den Himmel aufgefahren, wo er die Glaubenden persönlich vor dem Vater vertritt. (John 1:1-18; Matt 1:18-21; Luke 24:39; Rom. 3: 23-25; John 5:18; Heb. 1:1-9; 1 John 5:20; 1 Tim. 2:5; Luke 24:51; 1 Cor. 15:1-4; 1 John 2:1-2)

Wir glauben an Gott den Heiligen Geist, der vom Vater und vom Sohn gesandt ist Christus zu verherrlichen und den Menschen vom Heilsweg Gottes zu überführen. Er wohnt in jedem Gläubigen, versiegelt, stärkt, führt, lehrt und heiligt ihn und gibt ihm geistliche Gaben zum Dienst in der Gemeinde. Indem wir alle Lebensbereiche an Christus ausliefern, kann er uns mehr und mehr erfüllen. (John 14:26; 15:26; 16:13-15; Eph. 1:13; Rom. 8:13-16; 2 Cor. 1:22; Rom. 15:19; Acts 1:8; 2:38; 8:29; Gal. 5:18; Titus 3:5; 1 Cor. 6:19-20; 1 Cor. 12:11)

3.      Der Mensch

Wir bekennen, dass Gott den Menschen nach seinem Ebenbild geschaffen hat und ihn mit Vernunft, Gefühlsreichtum und einem freien Willen ausgestattet hat, damit er in Verantwortung vor Gott sein Leben gestalte und über die Schöpfung herrsche. Mann und Frau sind vor Gott völlig gleichwertig, aber mit unterschiedlichen Aufgaben in Familie, Gemeinde und Gesellschaft betraut.

Wir bekennen, dass der Mensch durch Ungehorsam in Sünde gefallen ist und so alle Menschen völlig und ewig von Gott getrennt wurden. Die Natur, das Denken und das Tun des Menschen sind jetzt von der Sünde gezeichnet. Als Folge des Abfalls sind über die ganze Welt Plage, Krankheit und Tod gekommen. (Gen. 1:26-30; Rom. 3:23; 1 Cor. 11:8-12; Rom. 1:18-22; Eph. 5:22-24)

4.      Die Erlösung

Wir bekennen, dass der Mensch allein aus Gottes Gnade durch den Glauben an den Herrn Jesus Christus errettet wird. Er allein ist unser Mittler, der unsere Strafe völlig auf sich genommen hat. Jeder, der - durch Gottes Wort vom Heiligen Geist überführt – seine Sündhaftigkeit vor Gott eingesteht, das stellvertretende Opfer Christi willentlich in Anspruch nimmt und Jesus als seinen Herrn anerkennt (Herrschaftswechsel), wird zu neuem Leben wiedergeboren und darf die Gewissheit ewigen Heils haben. Durch die Gemeinschaft mit seinem Herrn, Gehorsam gegenüber Gottes Wort, Gebet und Gemeinschaft mit anderen erlebt der Gläubige geistliches Wachstum. Körperlichem und seelischem Leid bleibt er zwar unterworfen, es liegt aber in Gottes Hand, ihm auf sein Gebet hin Heilung oder Stärkung und Wachstum im Leid zu schenken. (John 14:6; Acts 4:12; John 1:29; Acts 13:38-39; Rom. 4:5, 5:1, 10:9-10; John 3:16; Eph. 2:8-9, 1:4-5; Heb. 10:10,14; Eph. 5:26-27; Rom. 8:11; 1 Cor. 6:11; 1 John 5:13; John 10:27-30, 17:1, 6:37; 2 Tim 1:12; James 1:2-3; 1 Pet. 2:20-21, 3:14, 4:12-19; 2 Cor. 4:7-12; Phil. 4:6-7; John 14:13-14; Rom. 5:3-5)

5.      Die Gemeinde

Wir bekennen uns zur Gemeinde als dem einen geistlichen Leib, dessen Haupt Christus ist und dessen Glieder alle Wiedergeborenen sind.

Wir bekennen uns zur Ortsgemeinde als Versammlung von Gläubigen in Jesus Christus, deren Aufgabe es ist, Lobpreis und Anbetung Gottes, die Verkündigung des Evangeliums in aller Welt, biblische Unterweisung, Seelsorge, Diakonie, Bitte und Fürbitte zu praktizieren. Als sichtbares Zeichen der Erlösung hat die Gemeinde die Glaubenstaufe und das Abendmahl der Gläubigen zu pflegen. Christus ist der Herr der einzelnen Gemeinde, dem sie, allen voran die Ältesten und Diakone, direkt verantwortlich ist. Unter ihrer Leitung und nach ihrem Vorbild sind alle Gemeindeglieder berufen, einander gemäß ihrer geistlichen Reife, Charakter und Begabung zu dienen.

Wir bekennen uns zur Selbständigkeit und Eigenverantwortlichkeit der Ortsgemeinde. Das Zusammenleben in einem Gemeindebund erfordert jedoch von einer autonomen Gemeinde ein gewisses Maß an freiwillig angenommener Gemeinsamkeit in Lehre und Praxis. Wir anerkennen und unterstützen die staatliche Obrigkeit in ihrer von Gott verordneten Aufgabe, soweit damit nicht Gottes Gebote verletzt werden. (Eph. 1:22-23, 4:15-16; Acts 2:42-47, 14:23; 1 Cor. 11:23-27, 12:19-20, 27-28; Matt. 28:19; 1 Pet. 5:1-5; Titus 1:5)

6.      Die letzten Dinge

Wir bekennen uns zur sichtbaren Wiederkunft Christi nach einer Zeit der Verfolgung, der Verführung und des Gerichtes Gottes. Christus wird dann endgültig Gericht halten über die Lebenden und die Toten. Schließlich wird Gott einen Neuen Himmel und eine Neue Erde schaffen, in denen absolute Gerechtigkeit wohnen wird. Die Erlösten werden die Ewigkeit in Gottes Gegenwart verbringen, die Unerlösten jedoch in der Gottesferne. (Titus 2:13; 1 Thess. 1:10, 4:13-18, 5:4-10; John 14:1-3; Matt. 24:8-31, 25:31-46; Rev. 21:1-8)

Statement of Faith

In agreement with the Apostles’ Creed, we believe:

 

1.      The Holy Bible

We believe that – while retaining the human identity of each author – the entire Holy Bible (without the Apocrypha) in its source texts is the inspired and inerrant Word of God. It was given to us by God to serve as the utmost authority in all issues concerning faith, thoughts and actions. (2 Tim. 3:16; 2 Pet. 1:21; Heb. 4:12)

2.      God

We believe that there is only one true God who reveals himself as Father, Son and Holy Spirit. God is Spirit, yet a person; eternal, omnipresent, almighty and omniscient; he is completely holy, good and just; a God of judgement as well as love, mercy and grace. (Gen. 1:1; Deut. 6:4; John 10:30; John 4:24; Matt. 28:19; 2 Cor. 13:14; Heb. 4:14; Psalm 139:1-10; Jer. 23:23-24; Psalm 99:9; Psalm 106:1; Deut. 32:4; 1 John 4:8; Exodus 34:6)

We believe in God the Father: The creator, author and sustainer of all things, including his plan of redemption for mankind. (Gen. 1:1; Rom. 8:28; 1 Cor. 8:6; John 3:16; Psalm 54:4; Psalm 55:22)

We believe in God the Son: Through him the world was created and who, by conception through the Holy Spirit, became fully man while remaining fully God at the same time. He died a substitutionary death on the cross for the guilt of man in order to redeem him from sin and everlasting separation from God. His resurrection from the dead was bodily, and he ascended into the heavens where he personally represents the believers before the Father. (John 1:1-18; Matt 1:18-21; Luke 24:39; Rom. 3: 23-25; John 5:18; Heb. 1:1-9; 1 John 5:20; 1 Tim. 2:5; Luke 24:51; 1 Cor. 15:1-4; 1 John 2:1-2)

We believe in God the Holy Spirit: He was sent from the Father and from the Son to glorify Christ and convict man about God’s way of salvation. He indwells every believer; he seals, strengthens, guides, teaches and sanctifies the believer and provides him/her with spiritual gifts for ministry in the church. As we submit all areas of life to Christ, he is able to fulfil us more and more. (John 14:26; 15:26; 16:13-15; Eph. 1:13; Rom. 8:13-16; 2 Cor. 1:22; Rom. 15:19; Acts 1:8; 2:38; 8:29; Gal. 5:18; Titus 3:5; 1 Cor. 6:19-20; 1 Cor. 12:11)

3.      Man

We believe that God created man in his image and has given him reason, feelings and a free will so that he can live responsibly before God and rule over creation. Man and woman are equal before God, but are entrusted with different roles in family, church and society.

We believe that man fell into sin because of disobedience, and therefore all mankind was completely and eternally separated from God. Man’s nature, mind and deeds are now marked by sin. Due to the fall, hardship, sickness and death came into the world. (Gen. 1:26-30; Rom. 3:23; 1 Cor. 11:8-12; Rom. 1:18-22; Eph. 5:22-24)

4.      Redemption

We believe that mankind can only be saved through God’s grace by believing in the Lord Jesus Christ. He alone is our mediator who completely took our penalty on himself. Everyone who, having been convicted by God’s Word and the Holy Spirit – acknowledges their sinfulness before God, wilfully submits to Christ’s substitutionary sacrifice and accepts Jesus as their Lord will be born again to new life and have assurance of eternal salvation. The believer experiences spiritual growth through fellowship with the Lord, obedience to God’s Word, as well as prayer and fellowship with other Christians. The believer will remain subject to physical and emotional suffering; however, it is in God’s hands to respond to the believer’s prayer and grant healing, strengthening and growth in the midst of suffering. (John 14:6; Acts 4:12; John 1:29; Acts 13:38-39; Rom. 4:5, 5:1, 10:9-10; John 3:16; Eph. 2:8-9, 1:4-5; Heb. 10:10,14; Eph. 5:26-27; Rom. 8:11; 1 Cor. 6:11; 1 John 5:13; John 10:27-30, 17:1, 6:37; 2 Tim 1:12; James 1:2-3; 1 Pet. 2:20-21, 3:14, 4:12-19; 2 Cor. 4:7-12; Phil. 4:6-7; John 14:13-14; Rom. 5:3-5)

5.      The Church

We believe in the church being a spiritual body with Christ being the head and all members being born-again believers.

We believe that the local church is a gathering of believers in Jesus Christ whose purpose is to worship and adore God, to proclaim the gospel in all the world, to practice biblical instruction (teaching), to give counsel in spiritual matters, to carry out social welfare deeds, to pray in supplication and intercession. The church has to maintain the visible signs of redemption: believer’s baptism and communion. Every single local church, and primarily its elders and deacons, is directly responsible to the Lord Jesus Christ. All church members are called to follow the example set by the leadership and serve each other according to everyone’s spiritual maturity, character and gifting.

We believe in the independence and self-reliance of the local church. An autonomous church is still expected to have common ground with the umbrella organization where teaching and practice are concerned.

We recognize and support the governmental authorities in their God-given role as long as none of God’s laws are being violated. (Eph. 1:22-23, 4:15-16; Acts 2:42-47, 14:23; 1 Cor. 11:23-27, 12:19-20, 27-28; Matt. 28:19; 1 Pet. 5:1-5; Titus 1:5)

6.      Eschatology (The final things)

We believe in Christ’s visible return after times of trial, temptation and God’s judgment. Christ is then going to pass final judgment on the living and the dead. In the end, God will create a New Heaven and a New Earth that will be filled with absolute righteousness. The redeemed will spend eternity in God’s presence, but the unredeemed in separation from God. (Titus 2:13; 1 Thess. 1:10, 4:13-18, 5:4-10; John 14:1-3; Matt. 24:8-31, 25:31-46; Rev. 21:1-8)